Investigators

Julien Archez.jpg

Julien Archez

After having completed a DUT in Physical Measurements in Saint Etienne, I joined the INSA Lyon engineering school in Materials Science and Engineering in 2010. I did internships on the study of pre-ceramic polymers at the Multimaterials Laboratory and Interfaces in Lyon as well as on the study and characterization of perovskite ceramic powders in Stockholm. My project and my end-of-study internship were carried out on the study of cortical bone by nano-indentation and on the synthesis of bioactive glasses in the Noraker company in Villeurbanne. I then worked 18 months within Fives Keods as a metallurgical engineer where I studied the detection of faults on Arcelor Mittal production lines. After a year-long trip around the world, he worked within Areva (Le Creusot) with Agap2 in order to analyze the mechanical tests carried out on the tanks and steam generators of nuclear power plants. I finally started a thesis in 2017 funded by Andra on the study of geopolymer composites and their shaping by additive manufacturing for the storage of high-level nuclear waste in collaboration with IRCER (Limoges) and the laboratory Navier (Champs sur Marne). My skills are the synthesis and physico-chemical, structural or mechanical characterization of ceramic materials, metals, polymers and composites.

+
Camille Boutemy_edited.jpg

Camille Boutemy

After studying at the Paris-Est school of architecture and at the Technische Universität Müenchen, Camille graduated as an architect in July 2018.

 

She conducted a short research on the deformation of plates by the incision, a subject combining architecture, matter and geometry during her Master thesis supervised by Marc Mimram, Jean-Aimé Shu and Margaux Gillet.

 

She also benefited from professional experience, in particular by integrating the team of the Barthélémy Grino architects agency as a designer facade, but also as an architecture consultant with the Ariane Group company.

 

Camille obtained funding thanks to the [MA] N (Materiality and Digital Architectures) project awarded by I-site FUTURE Impulsion in order to carry out a thesis at the Navier laboratory in the Materials and Architectured Structures department. This thesis aims to model and produce deformable architectural formwork, and is directed by Olivier Baverel (Navier Laboratory), co-supervised by Arthur Lebée (Navier Laboratory) and Marc Mimram (OCS Laboratory at EAVT).

Paul Carneau.jpg

Paul Carneau

A graduate of the Civil Engineering and Construction department of the École des Ponts et Chaussées in 2013, Paul began his professional career with a VIE (International Volunteering in Business) with Bouygues Construction in Ukraine, as an engineer on the construction project of the Ark containment of reactor no. 4 from Chernobyl, where he worked on the design, development and installation of the structure's sealing systems. In 2016, he joined the new specialized master “Design by Data” on parametric design and digital manufacturing.

 

His professional thesis in collaboration with Mladen BAbic and under the supervision of Olivier Baverel focused on the study of a hybrid structure composed of an elastic gridshell in composite material supporting a masonry vault.


Following the master Paul started a doctoral thesis at the Navier laboratory supervised by Olivier Baverel, Romain Mesnil and Nicolas Roussel.His work focuses on 3D printable forms based on cementitious materials, and is based on a study of traditional masonry structures (domes, barrel vaults, cantilever), coupled with a characterization of the printable material, and an analysis of the freedom of shaping brought by robotics. Full-scale experiments are carried out in the 3D printing cell of Build'in to validate the concepts developed during this thesis.

+
Stefano_Borghi_SBO_8408_Mid.jpg

Léo Demont

Léo Demont is a doctoral student in the Architectural Materials and Structures (MSA) team at the Navier laboratory. He is working on the development of a full scale 3D printing process for concrete reinforced with long fibers.

 

Léo studied architecture at the ENSA Paris-Malaquais. He worked in several architectural agencies and co-founded Dynamorphe in 2017, a collective of architects federated around the creation of interactive inflatable structures. He actively participates in the creation of innovative demonstrators exhibited in renowned art sites and scientific events, such as the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris and the 60th congress of the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) .

 

In 2018, Léo joined the University of Paris-Est where he collaborated in the establishment of the DiXite network and in the development of robotic experimental means until the start of his doctorate in 2019. He also took part in teaching activities on digital architectural design and robotics at the ENSA Paris-Malaquais and the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech.

+
Nicolas Ducoulombier.jpg

Nicolas Ducoulombier

Nicolas Ducoulombier comes from the north of France. He studied engineering at HEI in the field of Buildings, planning and architecture, where he also took architecture courses at the Saint-Luc Institute. He developed this link between architecture and engineering during his internship in the architect-engineer firm Samyns and Partners. In 2014, he did his last year on exchange at the Sejong University in Seoul. He then became more specifically interested in the behavior of materials and structures during a semester, then in the structure optimization laboratory for his end of study project.

 

Upon his return to France in 2015, he joined the MSc program "AMMS: Multiscale Approach for Materials and Structures", where he developed in-depth knowledge of mechanical modelling. At the same time, he was responsible for setting up the monumental work of artist Oscar Lloveras on the forecourt of the Museum of Arts and Crafts as Technical Manager for the Japanese company Saga Yasei. It was after his master's internship at IFSTTAR, concerning the study of the influence of corrosion of reinforcements on the mechanical properties of the Steel-Concrete interface, that he joined the Navier laboratory in October 2016 for a doctoral thesis on strengthening concrete for 3D printing.

 

Since then, his research has been situated at the frontier between several fields: formulation, rheology and micromechanical properties. He is co-author of a patent on a reinforcement process for robotic extrusion. These other contributions are, on the one hand, the development of an experimental methodology for automatic characterization of the threshold of the extrudate at the outlet of the nozzle; and on the other hand, the study of the mechanical properties of the interface between a continuous reinforcement and the cementitious matrix based on reverse analysis and direct observations by X-ray microtomography techniques.

+
Julien Glath_edited.jpg

Julien Glath

Julien is a State-certified architect since 2018, from the Master Matière à Penser at the School of Architecture of the City and Territories of Paris-Est.

 

He obtained his BA in Architecture at the National School of Architecture of Nancy before joining the Master directed by Marc Mimram and Philippe Barthélémy.

 

During his MAaster Thesis, he worked on deployable structures, supervised by Marc Mimram, Jean-Aimé Shu and Margaux Gillet. This thesis allowed him to obtain a Research mention andlead him to enrich his curriculum with a doctorate.

 

After a professional experience with Barthélémy Griño Architects, Julien is currently a doctoral student in the Department of Architectural Materials and Structure, of the Navier laboratory, thanks to the funding of an Impulsion I-Site FUTURE project. His thesis focuses on the construction and deconstruction of wooden structures using robotic tools. This thesis is directed by Olivier Baverel (Navier, ENPC), co-supervised by Marc Mimram (OCS, EAVT) and Tristan Gobin (HAL Robotics). Julien is the 2019 recipient of Palladio Foundation grants.

+
Kateryna Kuzmenko 2.jpg

Kateryna Kuzmenko

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed non risus. Suspendisse lectus tortor, dignissim sit amet, adipiscing nec, ultricies sed, dolor. Cras elementum ultrices diam. Maecenas ligula massa, varius a, semper congue, euismod non, mi. Proin porttitor, orci nec nonummy molestie, enim est eleifend mi, non fermentum diam nisl sit amet erat. Duis semper. Duis arcu massa, scelerisque vitae, consequat in, pretium a, enim. Pellentesque congue.

 

Ut in risus volutpat libero pharetra tempor. Cras vestibulum bibendum augue. Praesent egestas leo in pede. Praesent blandit odio eu enim. Pellentesque sed dui ut augue blandit sodales. Vestibulum ante ipsum primis in faucibus orci luctus et ultrices posuere cubilia Curae; Aliquam nibh. Mauris ac mauris sed pede pellentesque fermentum. Maecenas adipiscing ante non diam sodales hendrerit.

Ut velit mauris, egestas sed, gravida nec, ornare ut, mi.

 

Aenean ut orci vel massa suscipit pulvinar. Nulla sollicitudin. Fusce varius, ligula non tempus aliquam, nunc turpis ullamcorper nibh, in tempus sapien eros vitae ligula. Pellentesque rhoncus nunc et augue. Integer id felis. Curabitur aliquet pellentesque diam. Integer quis metus vitae elit lobortis egestas. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Morbi vel erat non mauris convallis vehicula. Nulla et sapien.

+
Sébastien_Maitenaz.jpg

Sébastien Maitenaz

Sébastien is currently a doctoral student in a CIFRE thesis between ISC (Vinci Construction) and the Navier laboratory of the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech. He studied structural engineering and civil engineering at the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech and obtained his engineering degree in 2018.

 

Having developed an interest in the relationship between structure and architecture, he applied his multidisciplinary skills during internships at Maffeis Engineering - where he took part in the design of the retractable roof of Roland Garros - and at VSA Korea - where he worked as facade engineer and developed a new type of window, the Ublo.

 

His research work focuses on the automation of construction processes. More specifically, Sébastien relies on recent developments in digital design and manufacturing tools (robotic assemblies, topological optimization, parametric design, etc.) to propose new methods for the design and construction of reinforced concrete structures, such as beams or slabs. Its first results relate to the assembly of cages of beam reinforcement optimized and more economical in material.

+
Mahan Motamedi.jpg

Mahan Motamedi

Mahan Motamedi is a computational architect and researcher. Being absorbed by the mud structures in ancient civilizations and having a passion for futuristic approaches toward the construction industry, he chose to quit the architecture and model making profession and devote his time to research on the scaffold-free methods of robotic additive manufacturing of soil structures.

 

Currently, he is a part of the GSA laboratory from École Nationale supérieure d'architecture de Paris-Malaquais and has collaborated with the Navier Laboratory from Ecole des Ponts Paris-Tech as a research assistant for the design and construction of a 3D-printed truss wall.

+

Investigators

Julien Archez.jpg

Julien Archez

Après avoir effectué un DUT Mesures Physique à Saint Etienne, j’ai intégré l’école d’ingénieur INSA de Lyon en Sciences et Génie des Matériaux en 2010. J’ai réalisé des stages sur l’étude de polymères précéramiques au Laboratoire Multimatériaux et Interfaces à Lyon ainsi que sur l’étude et la caractérisation de poudres céramiques perovskite à Stockholm. Mon projet et mon stage de fin d’étude ont été effectués sur l’étude de l’os cortical par nano-indentation et sur la synthèse de verres bioactifs dans l’entreprise Noraker à Villeurbanne. J’ai ensuite travaillé 18 mois au sein de Fives Keods en tant qu’ingénieur métallurgiste où j’étudiais la détection de défauts sur les lignes de production d’Arcelor Mittal. Après un voyage d’un an autour du monde, il a  travaillé au sein d’Areva (Le Creusot) avec Agap2 afin d’analyser les essais mécaniques réalisés sur les cuves et les générateurs de vapeur des centrales nucléaires. J’ai finalement commencé une thèse en 2017 financée par l’Andra sur l’étude de composites géopolymères et leur mise en forme par fabrication additive pour le stockage des déchets nucléaires de haute activité en collaboration avec l’IRCER (Limoges) et le laboratoire Navier (Champs sur Marne). Mes compétences sont la synthèse et la caractérisation physicochimique, structurale ou mécanique des matériaux céramiques, des métaux, des polymères et des composites.

Camille Boutemy_edited.jpg

Camille Boutemy

Après avoir étudié à l’école d’architecture Paris-Est et à la Technische Universität Müenchen, Camille est diplômée architecte en juillet 2018.

 

Elle a mené une courte recherche sur la déformation de plaques par l'incision, un sujet alliant architecture, matière et géométrie lors de son projet de fin d’étude encadré par Marc Mimram, Jean-Aimé Shu et Margaux Gillet.

 

Elle a aussi bénéficié d'expériences professionnelles, notamment en intégrant l’équipe de l'agence Barthélémy Grino architectes en tant que facade designer, mais aussi en tant que consultante en architecture avec l’entreprise Ariane Group.

 

Camille a obtenu un financement grâce au projet [MA]N (Matérialité et Architectures Numériques) primé par I-site FUTURE Impulsion afin d’effectuer une thèse au laboratoire Navier dans le département Matériaux et Structures Architecturées. Cette thèse vise à modéliser et réaliser un coffrage architecturé déformable, et est dirigée par Olivier Baverel (Laboratoire Navier), co-encadrée par Arthur Lebée (Laboratoire Navier) et Marc Mimram (Laboratoire OCS à l’EAVT).

Paul Carneau.jpg

Paul Carneau

Diplômé du département Génie Civil et Construction de l’École des Ponts et Chaussées en 2013, Paul a commencé sa carrière professionnelle par un VIE (Volontariat International en Entreprise) avec Bouygues Construction en Ukraine, comme ingénieur sur le projet de construction de l’Arche de confinement du réacteur n°4 de Tchernobyl, où il a travaillé à la conception, développement et installation des systèmes d’étanchéité de la structure. Il ai intégré en 2016 le nouveau mastère spécialisé « Design by Data » sur la conception paramétrique et fabrication numérique.

 

Sa thèse professionnelle en collaboration avec Mladen BAbic et sous la supervision d’Olivier Baverel a porté sur l’étude d’une structure hybride composée d’un gridshell élastique en matériau composite supportant une voûte en maçonnerie. 


Suite au mastère Paul a démarré une thèse de doctorat au laboratoire Navier encadrée par Olivier Baverel, Romain Mesnil et Nicolas Roussel. Elle porte sur la recherche de formes imprimables en 3D à base de matériaux cimentaire, et s’appuie sur une étude des structures traditionnelles en maçonnerie (dômes, voûtes en berceau, encorbellement), couplée à une caractérisation du matériau imprimable, et une analyse de la liberté de mise en forme apportée par la robotique. Des expériences à échelle un sont réalisées dans la cellule d’impression 3D de Build’in pour valider les concepts développés pendant cette thèse.

Stefano_Borghi_SBO_8408_Mid.jpg

Léo Demont

Léo Demont est un doctorant de l’équipe Matériaux et Structures Architecturés (MSA) du laboratoire Navier. Il travaille sur le développement d’un procédé échelle 1 d’impression 3D de béton renforcé avec des fibres longues.

Léo a étudié l’architecture à l’ENSA Paris-Malaquais. Il a travaillé dans plusieurs agences d’architecture et co-fonde Dynamorphe en 2017, un collectif d’architectes fédéré autour de la réalisation de structures gonflables interactives. Il participe activement à la création de démonstrateurs innovants exposés dans des lieux d’art et des événements scientifiques réputés, tels que l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris et le 60e congrès de l’International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS). 

 

En 2018, Léo rejoint l'Université Paris-Est où il collabore à la mise en place du réseau DiXite et au développement des moyens expérimentaux robotisés jusqu’au début de son doctorat en 2019. Il prend également part à des activités d’enseignement sur la conception architecturale numérique et la robotique à l’ENSA Paris-Malaquais et à l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech.

Nicolas Ducoulombier.jpg

Nicolas Ducoulombier

Nicolas Ducoulombier vient du nord de la France. Il y effectue des études d’ingénieurs à HEI dans le domaine Bâtiments, aménagement et architecture, où il suit également des cours d’architecture à l’Institut Saint-Luc. Il développe ce lien entre architecture et ingénierie durant son stage dans le cabinet d’architecte-ingénieur Samyns and Partners. En 2014, il effectue sa dernière année en échange à l’Université de Sejong à Séoul. Il s’intéresse alors plus spécifiquement aux comportements des matériaux et des structures durant un semestre, puis au sein du laboratoire d’optimisation des structures pour son projet de fin d’étude.

 

A son retour en France en 2015, il intègre le master de recherche « AMMS : Approche Multiéchelle pour les Matériaux et les Structures », où il développe des connaissances approfondis sur la modélisation en mécanique. Il s’occupe en parallèle de l’implantation de l’œuvre monumental de l’artiste Oscar Lloveras sur le parvis du Musée des Arts et métiers en tant que responsable Technique de la société japonaise Saga Yasei. C’est à la suite de son stage de master à l’IFSTTAR, concernant l’étude de l’influence de la corrosion des armatures sur les propriétés mécaniques de l’interface Acier-Béton qu’il intègre le laboratoire Navier en octobre 2016 pour une thèse de doctorat sur le renforcement des bétons pour l’impression 3D.

 

Depuis lors, sa recherche se situe à la frontière entre plusieurs domaines : la formulation, la rhéologie et les propriétés micromécaniques. Il est co-auteur d’un brevet sur un procédé de renforcement pour l’extrusion robotisée. Ces autres contributions sont d’une part, le développement d’une méthodologie expérimentale de caractérisation automatique du seuil de l’extrudât en sortie de buse; et d’autre part, l’étude des propriétés mécaniques de l’interface entre un renfort continu et la matrice cimentaire en s’appuyant sur l’analyse inverse et des observations directes par des techniques de microtomographie à rayons X.

Julien Glath_edited.jpg

Julien Glath

Julien est Architecte diplômé d’Etat depuis 2018, issu du Master Matière à Penser de l’École d’Architecture de la Ville et des Territoires de Paris-Est.

 

Il a obtenu sa Licence en Architecture à l’École Nationale Supérieur d’Architecture de Nancy avant de rejoindre le Master dirigé par Marc Mimram et Philippe Barthélémy. Julien a réalisé un Projet de Fin d'Études Recherche, une première pour son Master et son École.

 

Durant ce semestre de recherche, il a travaillé sur les structures déployables, encadré par Marc Mimram, Jean-Aimé Shu et Margaux Gillet. Ce PFE lui a permis d’obtenir une mention Recherche et a suscité chez lui l’envie d’enrichir son cursus avec un doctorat. 

 

Après une expérience professionnelle chez Barthélémy Griño Architectes, Julien est actuellement doctorant au département Matériaux et Structure Architecturés, du laboratoire Navier, grâce au financement d’un projet Impulsion I-Site FUTURE. Sa thèse porte sur la construction et la déconstruction des structures bois grâce aux outils robotisés. Cette thèse est dirigé par Olivier Baverel (Navier, ENPC), co-encadré par Marc Mimram (OCS, EAVT) et Tristan Gobin (HAL Robotics). Julien est lauréat 2019 des bourses de la Fondation Palladio.

Kateryna Kuzmenko 2.jpg

Kateryna Kuzmenko

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed non risus. Suspendisse lectus tortor, dignissim sit amet, adipiscing nec, ultricies sed, dolor. Cras elementum ultrices diam. Maecenas ligula massa, varius a, semper congue, euismod non, mi. Proin porttitor, orci nec nonummy molestie, enim est eleifend mi, non fermentum diam nisl sit amet erat. Duis semper. Duis arcu massa, scelerisque vitae, consequat in, pretium a, enim. Pellentesque congue.

 

Ut in risus volutpat libero pharetra tempor. Cras vestibulum bibendum augue. Praesent egestas leo in pede. Praesent blandit odio eu enim. Pellentesque sed dui ut augue blandit sodales. Vestibulum ante ipsum primis in faucibus orci luctus et ultrices posuere cubilia Curae; Aliquam nibh. Mauris ac mauris sed pede pellentesque fermentum. Maecenas adipiscing ante non diam sodales hendrerit.

Ut velit mauris, egestas sed, gravida nec, ornare ut, mi.

 

Aenean ut orci vel massa suscipit pulvinar. Nulla sollicitudin. Fusce varius, ligula non tempus aliquam, nunc turpis ullamcorper nibh, in tempus sapien eros vitae ligula. Pellentesque rhoncus nunc et augue. Integer id felis. Curabitur aliquet pellentesque diam. Integer quis metus vitae elit lobortis egestas. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Morbi vel erat non mauris convallis vehicula. Nulla et sapien.

Sébastien_Maitenaz.jpg

Sébastien Maitenaz

Sébastien est actuellement doctorant dans le cadre d’une thèse CIFRE entre ISC (Vinci Construction) et le laboratoire Navier de l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech. Il a étudié l’ingénierie des structures et le génie civil à l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech et a obtenu son diplôme d’ingénieur en 2018.

 

Ayant développé un intérêt dans la relation entre structure et architecture, il a appliqué ses compétences multidisciplinaires durant des stages à Maffeis Engineering – où il a pris part à la conception du toit rétractable de Roland Garros – et à VSA Korea – où il a travaillé comme ingénieur façade et a développé un nouveau type de fenêtre, le Ublo.

 

Son travail de recherche s’intéresse à l’automatisation des procédés de construction. Plus précisément, Sébastien s’appuie sur les développements récents des outils de conception et de fabrication numérique (assemblages robotisés, optimisation topologique, conception paramétrique, etc.) pour proposer de nouvelles méthodes de conception et de construction de structures en béton armé, comme des poutres ou des dalles. Ses premiers résultats portent sur l’assemblage de cages d’armatures de poutres optimisées et plus économes en matière.

Mahan Motamedi.jpg

Mahan Motamedi

Mahan est un architecte

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Nous contacter

Porteur du projet

Partenaires institutionnels

Partenaires industriels