Direction

romain mesnil.jpg

Romain Mesnil

Project Manager

Romain Mesnil is the project manager of the Co-Innovation lab des Ponts and the Build'in platform since 2017.

 

As a structural engineer, graduate of the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech and MIT, he is particularly interested in design processes informed by digital technology and has contributed to the development of the thinkshell project. His thesis subject, defended at the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, related to the design of structures with complex geometry and was awarded the Hangai Prize in 2017 by the International Association for Shells and Spatial Structures.

 

Romain coordinates the Build'in platform, in collaboration with Jean-François Caron and Olivier Baverel. He supervises research work on concrete 3D printing, robotic assemblies and structural optimization and teaches at the Ecole des Ponts, in particular in the advanced Master Design by Data. He has published fifteen articles in peer-reviewed journals, presented his work in ten international conferences, and is a co-inventor of a patent.

JF caron.jpg

Jean-François Caron

Scientific advisor

Jean-François Caron is research director, head of the Architectural Materials and Structures (MSA) team at the Navier laboratory and professor at the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech.

 

He is interested in the modelling of composite and multi-layer structures as well as in the innovative use of composite materials in construction. He was co-winner of the Tsuboi Prize by the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) in 2006 and the "Oustanding Paper Award" by the International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE) for his work on gridshells in composite materials. Since 2012, he has been a member of the European working group WG4 Fiber Reinforced Polymer Structures which is developing the Eurocode for composite materials.

 

Since 2016, his research has also focused on digital construction, in particular 3D printing of fiber-reinforced concrete, a process for which he has filed a patent for invention. He is the scientific advisor of the Build'in platform and actively participates in scientific planning and the supervision of doctoral students.

+
olivierbaverel.jpg

Olivier Baverel

Academic advisor

Olivier Baverel is a professor at the Ecole des Ponts ParisTech and professor at the Grenoble School of Architecture.

 

He is also a researcher at the Navier and GSA laboratories and editor of the International Journal of Space Structures. Her research focuses on structural engineering, the rationalization of the manufacture of envelopes with complex geometry, and life cycle analysis.

 

He has developed innovative construction systems, such as composite material gridshells and nexorades. He is a member of the board of directors of the International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures.

 

Since 2017, he is the academic advisor to the Build'in platform and has developed partnerships with research and higher education institutions in France and abroad.

+
Françoise_Preteux.jpg

Françoise Préteux

Dean of Research

Françoise Prêteux began her career as a researcher at the mathematical morphology center of MINES ParisTech (1982-1988), then as a professor at Télécom ParisTech in the Images Department (1989-1993).

 

She was appointed department director at Télécom SudParis, where she first created the Signal and Image department (1994-1998), then the ARTEMIS department (1999-2009). She initiates and develops, in collaboration with the national and international community, research and training programs in the field of digital image sciences.

She has coordinated around forty European and national projects. She buildt a dynamic of scientific development through numerous industrial partnerships which continues after his departure in 2010.

 

Françoise Préteux then returned to MINES ParisTech. She successively held the positions of assistant to the Director of Research, Director of the Carnot MINES institute and assistant to the Director of MINES ParisTech, in charge of forecasting and evaluation. She contributed to defining the research and innovation strategy of MINES ParisTech and to developing relationships with academic and industrial partners. She represented the School in the governance of the Scientific Direction of the Institut Mines-Télécom and participates in major scientific programs.

 

From 2011 to 2013, she directed the MINES Carnot institute which brings together all the laboratories of the six Mines schools, two labs of the Ecole Polytechnique and one of the ENSTA ParisTech. She defined the policy of partnership research and scientific renewal in relation to the Research Departments of the eight Grandes Ecoles. Under her collegial governance, the Carnot MINES institute  has experienced strong growth momentum, becomes the 1st academic Carnot institute and registers as a player in France's investment programs for the future and industrial recovery plans.

 

Françoise Préteux is the official representative of France for the standardization of digital content since 1998 and president of the associated Afnor commission since 2008. She serves as an expert for the Cap Digital competitiveness cluster, for the ANR thematic commissions Safe, clean & energy efficient, sustainable transport and mobility, interactive content and for establishment assessments by the AERES.

 

She has supervised more than 40 theses, a quarter of her doctoral students having had an academic career. She is co-author of a hundred reference publications, co-inventor of 12 patents and co-author of a dozen key technologies adopted by ISO MPEG standards

+

Direction

romain mesnil.jpg

Romain Mesnil

Chef de projet

Romain Mesnil est le chef de projet du Co-Innovation lab des Ponts et de la plateforme Build’in depuis 2017.

 

Ingénieur structure de formation, diplômé de l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech et du MIT, il s’intéresse particulièrement aux processus de conception informés par le numérique et a contribué au développement du projet thinkshell. Son sujet de thèse, soutenue à l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, avait trait à la conception de structures à géométrie complexe et a été récompensé par le Hangai Prize en 2017 par l’International Association for Shells and Spatial Structures.

Romain coordonne la plateforme Build’in, en collaboration avec Jean-François Caron et Olivier Baverel. Il encadre des travaux de recherche sur l’impression 3D béton, les assemblages robotisés et l’optimisation structurelle et enseigne à l’Ecole des Ponts, notamment dans le mastère spécialisé Design by Data. Il a publié une quinzaine d’articles dans des revues à comité de lecture, a présenté son travail dans une dizaine de conférences internationales, et est co-inventeur d’un brevet.

JF caron.jpg

Jean-François Caron

Conseiller scientifique

Jean-François Caron est directeur de recherche, responsable de l’équipe Matériaux et Structures Architecturés (MSA) du laboratoire Navier et professeur à l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech.

 

Il s’intéresse à la modélisation des structures composites et multi-couches ainsi qu’à l’utilisation innovante des matériaux composites dans la construction. Il est co-lauréat du prix Tsuboi par l’International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures (IASS) en 2006 et du « Oustanding Paper Award » par l’International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE) pour son travail sur les gridshells en matériaux composites. Depuis 2012, il est membre du groupe de travail européen WG4 Fibre Reinforce Polymer Structures qui développe l’Eurocode pour les matériaux composites.

Depuis 2016, ses travaux de recherche portent également sur la construction numérique, notamment l’impression 3D de bétons fibrés, procédé pour lequel il a déposé un brevet d’invention. Il est le conseiller scientifique de la plateforme Build’in et participe activement à la planification scientifique et à l’encadrement des doctorants.

olivierbaverel.jpg

Olivier Baverel

Conseiller académique

Olivier Baverel est professeur à l’Ecole des Ponts ParisTech et professeur à l’Ecole d’Architecture de Grenoble.

 

Il est également chercheur aux laboratoires Navier et GSA et éditeur de l’International Journal of Space Structures. Ses recherches portent sur l’ingénierie des structures, la rationalisation de la fabrication d’enveloppes à géométrie complexe, l’analyse de cycle de vie.

Il a développé des systèmes constructifs innovants, comme les gridshells en matériaux composites et les nexorades. Il est membre du conseil d’administration de l’International Association for Shell and Spatial Structures.

 

Depuis 2017, il est également conseiller académique de la plateforme Build’in et développe les partenariats avec des institutions de recherche et d’enseignement supérieur en France et à l’international.

Françoise_Preteux.jpg

Françoise Préteux

Françoise Prêteux débute sa carrière comme  chercheur au centre de morphologie mathématique de MINES ParisTech (1982-1988), puis comme professeur à Télécom ParisTech au sein du Département Images (1989-1993).

 

Elle est nommée directeur de département à Télécom SudParis, où elle crée tout d’abord le département Signal et Image (1994-1998), puis le département ARTEMIS (1999-2009). Elle y initie et développe, en lien avec la communauté nationale et internationale, recherches et programmes de formation dans le domaine des sciences de l’image numérique.

Elle coordonne une quarantaine de projets européens et nationaux. Elle construit une dynamique de valorisation scientifique au travers de nombreux partenariats industriels qui perdure après son départ en 2010.

 

Françoise Prêteux revient alors à MINES ParisTech. Il y occupe successivement les fonctions d’adjointe au Directeur de la Recherche, de Directrice de l’institut Carnot M.I.N.E.S et d’adjointe au Directeur de MINES ParisTech, en charge de la prospective et de l’évaluation.  Elle contribue à définir la stratégie de recherche et d’innovation de MINES ParisTech et à développer les relations avec les partenaires académiques et industriels. Elle  représente l’Ecole dans  la gouvernance de la Direction scientifique de l’Institut Mines-Télécom et  participe aux grands programmes scientifiques.

 

De 2011 à 2013, elle dirige l’institut Carnot M.I.N.E.S qui regroupe tous  les laboratoires des six Ecoles de mines, deux de l’Ecole Polytechnique et un de l’ENSTA ParisTech. Elle définit  la politique de recherche partenariale et de ressourcement scientifique en relation avec les Directions de la Recherche des huit Grandes Ecoles. Sous sa gouvernance collégiale, l’institut Carnot M.I.N.E.S connaît une forte dynamique de croissance, devient le 1er institut Carnot académique et s’inscrit comme acteur des Programmes d’investissement d’avenir et des Plans de reconquête industrielle de la France.

 

Françoise Prêteux est le représentant officiel de la France pour la normalisation des contenus numériques depuis 1998 et présidente de la commission Afnor associée depuis 2008. Elle sert d’expert pour le pôle de compétitivité Cap Digital, pour les commissions thématiques ANR Energie sûre, propre & efficace, Transport durable et mobilité, Contenus interactifs et pour les évaluations d’établissement par l’AERES.

 

Elle a dirigé plus de 40 thèses, un quart de ses doctorants ayant fait une carrière académique. Elle est co-auteur d’une centaine de publications de référence, co-inventeur de 12 brevets et co-auteur d’une dizaine de technologies clés adoptées par les normes ISO  MPEG.

 
 
 
 
Nous contacter

Porteur du projet

Partenaires institutionnels

Partenaires industriels